|
|
 |
Home > Research Tools > Research and Reference > Databases A to Z
Databases A to Z
Database of the Month
Daily Life Through History
Collects several related databases that allow you to explore everyday life past and present. Find out what people ate, wore, and used. Research topics such as food, fashion, holidays and teen life in America and around the world. Brings history up close by looking at people's everyday lives throughout the centuries. Includes the databases Daily Life Through History and Daily Life America as well as the complete contents of World Cultures Today. Licensed from Greenwood Publishing Group, Inc. Guide
A |
B |
C |
D |
E |
F |
G |
H |
I |
J |
K |
L |
M |
N |
O |
P |
Q |
R |
S |
T |
U |
V |
W |
X |
Y |
Z
A
Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 3,460 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide | Go Mobile!
Acceda Noticias
Provides access to the complete electronic editions of more than 20 Spanish-language newspapers published in the U.S. and archived and current articles from Spanish-language newspapers around the world. Licensed from NewsBank, Inc. Guide
Access Business News
News articles covering companies, industries, executives and products including current information on small companies not readily available elsewhere from more than 400 U.S. local, regional, national newspapers, newswires and business journals from 1993 to the present. Licensed from NewsBank, Inc. Guide
Access World News
Full text of nearly 1,000 local, regional, national and international newspapers. Contains 13 Colorado papers, including the Daily Camera (Boulder) and Denver Post, national papers such as the Boston Globe, New York Times and Washington Post, and a large selection of international papers. In addition to newspapers, the database also provides newswires, transcripts and multimedia. Licensed from NewsBank, Inc. Guide
Adult Learning Center
Come in to the library or log in from home for live help between 2pm and 11pm. ALC covers a variety of topics for lifelong learners. Get help preparing for the GED, writing a resume, learning how to use Microsoft Office programs and developing other skills for a new or prospective job. In addition, ALC provides access to resources and practice tests for the U.S. Citizenship exam. If you don't have time to work with a tutor, you may also ask a question or upload writing samples any time to hear back from a tutor via email. Licensed from Brainfuse.
America the Beautiful
Each of the 50 states, plus Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, and major territories are covered. Essays cover history, geography, economics, government, culture, and major cities. Special features include essays on U.S. presidents and major Native American tribes, timelines, educational games, an almanac and more than 1,000 Web links. Licensed from Grolier, Inc. Guide
User name: jcpl, Password: jcpl
American Indian History Online
Contains detailed articles, historical documents, maps and charts, biographies, images, legends and timelines. Licensed from Facts On File. Guide
America's News Magazines
Magazines previously available through America's News Magazines are available in several other library databases. To find a particular magazine, search the library's Online Magazines, Newspapers and eBooks.
America's Obituaries & Death Notices
A collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices. Searchable by name of the deceased, date range, or text, such as residence, occupation, hobbies, family members or other personal information, contained in the obituary or death notice. Licensed from NewsBank, Inc. Guide
Ancestry Library Edition
Not available from home
A genealogy resource containing approximately 4000 databases of census, vital, church, court and immigration records. Content ranges from the 13th to the 21st century and provides billions of indexed names. In addition to coverage for the United States and the United Kingdom, there are record collections for Canada, Europe and Australia. Licensed from ProQuest. Guide
AP Images
Contains The Associated Press' current year's photo library and a selection of images from its negative and print library, dating from the 1840s. The archive contains over 750,000 photos. Licensed from AccuNet. Guide
Associations Unlimited
Contains information about approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. Also provides full-text materials such as brochures, pamphlets and membership application forms for some 2,600 major U.S. national associations. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
Aula de Padres
A database of Spanish-language articles about parenting. Topics covered include family health and psychology, pregnancy and caring for babies and natural and alternative health remedies. Licensed from Editorial Océano S.L.U. Guide
B
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
A comprehensive index to more than 15 million biographical sketches in more than 1,000 volumes of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
Biography Resource Center
A database of biographical information on more than one million people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. Includes approximately 300,000 biographies from Gale sources as well as full-text articles from nearly 275 periodicals. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
BookFlix
A multimedia literacy resource featuring video versions of classic children's books. The videos are paired with nonfiction e-books about topics related to the video. Each pair also includes additional resources, including author profiles and links to web resources on relevant topics. Licensed from Grolier. Guide
Business Newsbank - see Access Business News
Business Source Complete
Full text for more than 2,950 scholarly business journals. Also includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide | Go Mobile!
C
careers-internet.org
Provides an online career test, career reports, bulletin boards and career news and trends. Licensed from Institute for Career Research. Guide
User name: 163w, Password: future
Chilton Library
Provides maintenance and repair information for most manufacturers of domestic and foreign vehicles. In addition to repair and maintenance procedures for most vehicles, the database also provides recall information, technical bulletins, videos, photos, wiring diagrams and more. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide | Online Tutorial (requires Flash)
CollegeSource Online
Features over 30,200 college catalogs in complete cover-to-cover, original page format representing two-year, four-year, graduate and professional schools. Licensed from Career Guidance Foundation. Guide
Colorado Grants Guide Online
Not available from home
A resource guide for nonprofit and community-based organizations in Colorado. Contains profiles on local foundations and trusts, corporations, national funders, government agencies and religious organizations. Licensed from Community Resource Center. Guide
Colorado Newspapers
A sub-set of America's Newspapers, this resource contains the full text of 13 Colorado newspapers -- Broomfield Enterprise, Brush News Tribune, Daily Camera (Boulder), Daily Sentinel (Grand Junction), Denver Post, Fort Collins Coloradoan, Fort Morgan Times, Gazette (Colorado Springs), Journal-Advocate (Sterling), Lamar Daily News, Moffat County Morning News, Rio Bianco Herald Times, Rocky Mountain News. Licensed from NewsBank, Inc. Guide
Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection
Colorado's Historic Newspaper Collection is a collaborative project of the Colorado Digitization Program, the Colorado State Library, and the Colorado Historical Society. Currently it includes 177 newspapers published in Colorado between 1859 and1930. A full list of titles is available in the database. Guide
Consulta
Contains Spanish language reference works in history, geography, medicine, alternative medicine, science, literature, biographies, bilingual dictionaries, atlases, journal articles, and an encyclopedia. Consulta is searchable in both English and Spanish. Licensed from Editorial Océano S.L.U. Guide
Corporate Affilitations
A directory of over 700,000 parent and subsidiary businesses worldwide. This database provides information about corporate hierarchies between companies, directors. executives and financial information, competitors and more information to support competitive intelligence research. Licensed from LexisNexis. Guide
CountryReports.org
Statistical and cultural information about countries around the globe. Compare countries, look at national symbols and find ecomomic information. Licensed from CountryReports.org Guide
CultureGrams
Contains information about the cultures and peoples of the world. Includes maps, images, statistics, flags, etc. Licensed from ProQuest Information and Learning Company. Guide
D
Daily Life Through History (Formerly Daily Life Online)
Explores everyday life through different historical eras. Find out what people ate, wore, and used. Research topics such as food, fashion and holidays. Brings history up close by looking at people's everyday lives throughout the centuries. Licensed from ABC-CLIO. Guide
Demographics Now
Available to all users. Library card not required.
A database for geographic business intelligence research. The database provides information to help businesses with marketing their services, identifying new customers or sales territories and learning about competitors. Users can produce high quality reports with maps and charts representing the data. Reports may be printed and saved in a variety of formats. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide | Online Tutorial (requires Flash)
Denver Post
Full text of the Denver Post exclusive of paid advertisements from June 1989 to the present. Licensed from NewsBank, Inc. Guide
Digital Microfilm
Online access to the microfilm editions of the Wall Street Journal and the New York Times beginning in 2008. View, print and save copies of full pages from these two publications. Licensed from ProQuest. Guide
Download Center
Access to all downloadable eBooks, Audiobooks and Music available to JCPL patrons.
E
EBSCO Animals
EBSCO Animals is now available through Middle Search Plus. You may search for animal information there, or you may search International Wildlife for classificiation information as well as more detailed articles, photos, maps and diagrams.
EBSCOhost
Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
A Spanish-language encyclopedia intended for young readers and beginning students of Spanish. In addition to articles on a variety of topics, the database includes a visual dictionary, activities for students, a tool for researching and comparing animals and links to the websites of several Spanish-language newspapers. Licensed from World Book, Inc. Guide
Europa World Online
Online version of the Europa World Year Book. Contains profiles of countries providing political and economic information as well as contacts and links for organizations, embassies and governments around the world. Licensed from Routledge. Guide
F
Facts On File Online Databases
Licensed from Facts On File.
G
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of electronic reference books which can all be searched at one time. These books cover many subject areas, click here to see the title list. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
Gale Databases
Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning.
Generations on Line
Not available from home
Generations Online guides seniors who have no computer experience through four basic Internet functions: electronic mail (email), discussion (threaded chat), a multi-lingual search through a partnership with Yahoo! and links to other sites. One feature is Memories: Generation to generation, specially designed to link school children with seniors. Licensed from Generations on Line.
Gods, Goddesses and Mythology
Provides information about prehistoric and classical mythology as well as more contemporary myths from literature and popular culture. In addition to photos and maps included in many articles, the database also provides detailed information and diagrams for the pantheons of many major mythologies. Licensed from Marshall Cavendish. Guide
GreenFILE
Contains citations and full-text publications focused on the relationship between humans and the environment. This database includes government publications, scholarly articles and general-interest publications on topics including renewable energy, green building, global warming and recycling. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide | Go Mobile!
Grolier Online
Licensed from Grolier, Inc. Guide
User name: jcpl, Password: jcpl
H
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Provides information on a variety of health and medical topics, including medical conditions and medications. The database includes general reference information on these topics, as well as magazine and journal articles, videos, pamphlets and news articles. You may also access a medical directory and many online health assessment tools. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
HelpNow!
Come to the library or log in from home for unlimited online homework help between 2pm and 11pm. Get help in English, Writing, Math, Science, Social Studies, Language Studies and Adult Education topics. Co-sponsored by the library and the Jefferson County Workforce Center. Licensed from Brainfuse.
HeritageQuest Online
Includes U.S. Census images for 1790 through 1930, as well as indices for 1790 through 1920 and part of 1930. Also includes 7,922 family histories, 12,035 local histories and 258 primary sources. Licensed from ProQuest Information and Learning Company. Guide | Online Tutorial (requires Flash)
History Resource Center: U.S. - see U.S. History in Context
History Resource Center: World - see World History in Context
I
Informe
Provides indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines. Also includes a thesaurus and interface uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users. Features title annotations in both English and Spanish. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
International Wildlife
An online version of the Marshall Cavendish International Wildlife Encyclopedia. The database provides information about species from every branch of the animal family. In addition to information about taxonomic relations and discussion of topics such as habitat and breeding, many articles include photos, maps and diagrams. Licensed from Marshall Cavendish. Guide
J
JobNow!
Access job search resources and career assessment tools from a library computer or from home. Log in Monday-Sunday between 2pm and 11pm for live online help, including interview coaching and resume reviews. You can use the resource links and send resumes for review at any time. Co-sponsored by the library and the Jefferson County Workforce Center. Licensed from Brainfuse.
K
Kids InfoBits
Designed especially for students in kindergarten through grade five. Kids InfoBits meets the needs of young students with simple, quick access to curriculum-related information on current events, arts, sciences, health, people, government, sports, history and more. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
L
Lands and Peoples
In addition to 330 articles on countries of the world, this online version features facts and figures, maps, flags, news, games, puzzles, brain teasers and thousands of Web links. Licensed from Grolier, Inc. Guide
User name: jcpl, Password: jcpl
LearningExpressLibrary
An online resource for test preparation and skill-building practice. Practice tests, based on the official exams, for academic, basic skills, civil service, cosmetology, EMS, firefighter, GED, law enforcement, military, postal service, real estate, teaching, and U.S. citizenship are available. The skill-building practices for grammar, vocabulary, spelling and writing are also valuable tools for ESL learners. There are instructions in Spanish for some skill-building modules. Create your own account at any Jefferson County Public Library location. Once you have an account you may use Learn-A-Test from anywhere. Licensed from LearningExpress, LLC. Guide | Online Tutorial (requires Flash)
LegalForms - Colorado
LegalForms contains many sample legal forms. Some forms are general to all states and many are specifically for Colorado. There are also tax forms and legal definitions available. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
Literature Resource Center
Now part of the Literature Resources from Gale. Use the Change Databases feature to select and search only Literature Resource Center if desired. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning.
Literature Resources from Gale
Provides access to a comprehensive collection of literature resources including literary criticism, author biographies and work overviews, as well as full text and citations of literary works such as poems, stories and plays. Literature Resources from Gale searches both the Literature Resource Center and LitFinder databases to locate literary works as well as information about these works and their authors. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
LitFinder
Now part of the Literature Resources from Gale. Use the Change Databases feature to select and search only LitFinder if desired. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning.
M
Magill's Medical Guide
Available via Salem Health, this is an online, searchable medical reference book for general readers, students, patients and caregivers. Includes articles on a range of medical topics, along with photos, illustrations and graphs. Licensed from Salem Press. Guide
MAS Ultra
A database designed specifically for high school students. It contains full text for periodicals, including popular magazines, and reference books on a variety of topics as well as primary sources, images and biographies. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide | Go Mobile!
MasterFILE Premier
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,900 periodicals, plus searchable full text for nearly 2,000 active periodicals. Subjects covered include general reference, business, health, multi-cultural and more. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide | Go Mobile!
Medicina y Salud
Spanish-language articles on a variety of health and medicine topics, including anatomy, physiology, nursing and allied health. The database also features several medical dictionaries and an anatomical atlas. Licensed from Editorial Océano S.L.U. Guide
MedicLatina
A Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by renowned Latin American medical publishers. Access to full text for nearly 125 periodicals, including over 50 peer-reviewed medical journals. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide
Middle Search Plus
Designed specifically for middle and junior high school students, Middle Search Plus includes full text from over 140 popular middle school magazines as well as reference books, primary source documents and images. All full text articles have been assigned lexile reading scores. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide | Go Mobile!
N
NetLibrary
Access to online books (eBooks) and downloadable audiobooks, including fiction, nonfiction, literary classics and a large collection of Children's and Teen audiobooks. Create your own account to download audiobooks and to browse, search, read and annotate eBooks online. Once you have an account you may use this "eLibrary" from any computer with internet access. Licensed from NetLibrary (OCLC).
NOTE: There are two ways to access NetLibrary, through this A-Z database list and through the JCPL catalog. If you are using NetLibrary for the first time from home, you must create an account here. Once you have an account, use any of the netLibrary links on our website or in the catalog to read ebooks.Guide
New York Times - Digital Microfilm
Online access to the microfilm edition of the New York Times beginning in 2010. View, print and save copies of full pages from the available issues. Licensed from ProQuest. Guide
NewsBank InfoWeb
Licensed from NewsBank, Inc.
NewsBank Retrospective
Provides full-text articles from more than 500 regional, national and international newspaper, magazine, and newswire sources between 1970 and 1991. Topics include social, economic and political issues as well as the arts, sports, health and science. Licensed from NewsBank, Inc. Guide
Newspaper Source
Provides full text for complete issues of 25 national and international newspapers, as well as selective full text content from more than 335 regional newspapers. Television and radio news transcripts are also available in full text. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide | Go Mobile!
NoveList K-8 Plus
Helps K-8 readers and K-8 teachers find new authors and titles. Readers can use this database to find reading recommendations, reviews, book discussion guides, book talks, as well as school resource materials. In addition to fiction resources, the database contains information on nonfiction titles chosen to support school curricula. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide
NoveList Plus
Helps fiction and nonfiction readers find new authors and titles. Novelist contains materials for all ages including picture books, children's "chapter" books, young adult titles and books for adult readers. Novelist allows readers to find read-alikes, reviews, book discussion guides, book talks, as well as school and readers’ advisory resource materials. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide
Nueva Enciclopedia Cumbre en linea
A Spanish-language encyclopedia, containing 15,000 articles, 6,500 photographs and more than 15,000 Internet links. Licensed from Grolier, Inc. Guide
O
Océano
Licensed from Editorial Océano S.L.U.
Océano Diccionarios
A collection of online dictionaries providing definitions and thesauri for Spanish as well as translations for Spanish with English, French, German and Portuguese. The database also includes grammar guides in Spanish for these five languages. Licensed from Editorial Océano S.L.U. Guide
Online Magazines, Newspapers and eBooks
Find full-text magazine, newspaper, journal articles and electronic books in JCPL's subscription databases. You may search by publication title, browse by subject and link quickly to all available content from a publication in a particular database. Licensed from Serials Solutions, Inc. Guide
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Contains information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to Web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - see Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Optimal Resume
A comprehensive online resource for job seekers. Once you set up an account, you can create resumes and cover letters and save them in a variety of formats. You can also create a website to share with potential employers that shows your resume, cover letter and other documents. In addition, there are many tools to help you prepare for a job search, including practice interviews, skills assessments and more. Licensed from OptimalResume.com. Guide
OverDrive
Browse, check out, and download eBooks, audiobooks and music to your computer or portable device. Note: These titles may be checked out by anyone with a valid Jefferson County Public Library card, but cannot be downloaded on a library computer. Licensed from OverDrive, Inc. Guide | Go Mobile!
P
Pop Culture Universe
A comprehensive database containing authoritative reference works about popular culture. Includes information about pop culture figures and icons, as well as topics such as fashion, media and technology, food and popular music. In addition to browsing these topics, you can also read overviews for each decade from the 1920s through the 2000s. Licensed from ABC-CLIO. Guide
Primary Search
Designed for elementary school students, Primary Search includes full text of 70 periodicals with lexile reading levels, encyclopedias, a dictionary and other reference sources. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide | Go Mobile!
ProQuest
Licensed from ProQuest.
R
Reference USA: Business Database
Contains directory information for millions of U.S. businesses. Click on "ticker symbol" to view Securities and Exchange Commission filings made by public companies (EDGAR). Licensed from infoUSA. Guide
Reference USA: Residential Database
Contains over 180 million names, addresses and phone numbers. Licensed from infoUSA. Guide
Regional Business News
Full text coverage of 75 U.S. regional business journals, newspapers and newswires. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide | Go Mobile!
ResearchPro
A federated search engine that searches across multiple subscription databases available through the library. Available databases are grouped by their appropriate topic. You may select a topic category or you may select your own custom set of databases to search. Research Pro will search for your keywords in all of the databases you have selected. Guide
Rocky Mountain News
Last published 2/28/09
Full text of Rocky Mountain News exclusive of paid advertisements from 1989 to 2/28/09. Licensed from NewsBank, Inc. Guide
S
Salem History
An online collection of history reference books also held in JCPL's print reference collection. Includes the following titles from several series: Great Events from History: The Ancient World, The 18th Century and The 20th Century 1901-1940; Great Lives from History: The Renaissance, The 17th and 19th Centuries, Notorious Lives; Milestone Documents in American History: The Fifties, Sixties and Seventies. Licensed from Salem Press. Guide
Science in Context
SRC is an in-depth, curriculum-oriented science database that provides a one-stop resource for all science-related research needs. Full text available as well as multimedia records. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
Science Online (includes Science Experiments On-line)
A broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments. Licensed from Facts On File. Guide
Science Resource Center - see Science in Context
Small Business Resource Center
Available to all users. Library card not required.
Designed for small business owners and entrepreneurs, Small Business Resource Center provides information on a range of topics, including financial planning, market analysis, business plan creation, regional tax law and more. Content is drawn from periodicals, news sources and reference books and provides up to date articles, business plans, statistics and directory information. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
Something About the Author Online
A complete online archive of the Something About the Author series of reference books, including the current edition. Provides biographical profiles for authors and illustrators of children's books as well as autobiographical essays from the Something About the Author Autobiography Series. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
Online Tutorials (require Flash): Basic Search | Advanced Search | Browse Authors
Standard & Poors NetAdvantage
A comprehensive resource for investment research, including reports and analysis for stocks, bonds and funds, as well as company profiles, corporation records, industry reports, the Security Dealers of North America directory and the Register of Corporations, Executives & Directors. NetAdvantage also provides access to issues of The Outlook, S&P's investment newsletter, back to 1996. Licensed from Standard & Poors. Guide
T
Teen Health & Wellness: Real Life, Real Answers
Provides students with comprehensive curricular support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more. Licensed from Rosen Publishing Group, Inc.Guide
Tell Me More (Learn a language)
Tell Me More is a language learning tool for developing specific skills, including: reading, writing, listening, speaking, vocabulary, grammar, and culture. Learn how to speak; Dutch, English, French, Italian, German, or Spanish (Spain and Latin America). If you are using Tell Me More for the first time, you must first create an account. Look for the new account link. Once you have an account, you can enter your individual username/password to access your account. Browser requirement: Internet Explorer 5.0+. Licensed from Auralog S.A. Guide, Troubleshooting
| Online Tutorial (requires Flash)
ThomasNet
Basic source for identification of U.S. manufacturers. Online version includes company information, product catalogs and CAD drawings. Licensed from Thomas Publishing Company. Guide
TOPIC Search
Articles on popular and current events topics from 4,800 sources including full text periodicals, government publications, biographies and public opinion polls. Minimum browser requirements: Internet Explorer 6.0+, Firefox 2.0+ or Safari 2.0+ (build 412+.) Licensed from EBSCO Publishing. Guide | Go Mobile!
U
U.S. History in Context (Formerly History Resource Center: U.S.)
A database for information on U.S. History topics. In addition to periodical articles and reference sources, the database includes multimedia, chronologies, primary sources and biographies of historical figures. You may also cross-search the companion database, History Resource Center: World to find additional information on a topic. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
W
Wall Street Journal - Digital Microfilm
Online access to the microfilm edition of the New York Times beginning in 2010. View, print and save copies of full pages from the available issues. Licensed from ProQuest. Guide
Westlaw
Not available from home
Online legal research service for legal and law related materials and services, including searches of United States and international legal materials. Licensed from Thomson Reuters/West. Guide
World Book Discover
Designed for students reading below grade-level, adult students developing their reading skills or students learning English, this database features basic, accessible encyclopedia entries and multimedia content on a variety of topics. Also included is a collection of "Life Skills" documents with information and activities on topics ranging from searching for a job to internet safety. Licensed from World Book, Inc. Guide
World Book Online For Kids
Contains articles and multimedia specifically for young students. You may search for articles or click on the pictures on the main page to begin exploring a range of topics. Licensed from World Book, Inc. Guide
World Book Online Info Finder
A general multimedia encyclopedia containing all articles of the 22-volume print set, as well as pictures, maps, videos, animations, sounds, web links, dictionary definitions and research resources for students. Licensed from World Book, Inc. Guide
World Book Online Reference Center
Provides access to World Book Online Reference Center's general multimedia encyclopedia containing all articles of the 22-volume print set, as well as a collection of Primary Sources, Pathfinders and several enhanced customizable features such as timelines and a personal research folder. Licensed from World Book, Inc. Guide
World History in Context (Formerly History Resource Center: World)
A database focused on world history topics, from ancient times to the present day. In addition to periodical articles and reference sources, the database includes multimedia, chronologies, primary sources and biographies of historical figures. You may also cross-search the companion database, History Resource Center: U.S. to find additional information on a topic. Licensed from Gale CENGAGE Learning. Guide
WorldCat
Books, periodicals and other materials in libraries worldwide. Licensed from FirstSearch (OCLC). Guide
|
|
|